The O’Donnell Young Scientist Prize

Professor O'DonnellThis Prize is offered by the RACI Polymer Division in recognition of the longstanding support and encouragement of young polymer scientists by the late of the University of Queensland. Professor O’Donnell’s vision and efforts for polymer scientists in Australia had young scientists in a pivotal role. This has resulted in many tangible benefits to young Australian polymer scientists such as reduced conference registration fees, travel subsidies and prizes, and in a more general way has brought about their increased participation in the Division at all levels, and their increased profile in the national and international polymer community. The prize is for a short attachment to another University to perform research towards the PhD. The minimum stay overseas is three weeks. Attendance at an overseas conference as part of the trip is encouraged. From 2008 onward the prize consists of an allowance of up to $A5000 . The deadline for applications for the 2016 prize is 15th September 2015.

Previous Recipients

The previous recipients of the O’Donnell Young Scientist Prize are:

  • 1996 J Campbell, Monash University
  • 1997 E Coen, Sydney University
  • 1998 K Lenghaus, University of Melbourne
  • 1999 B Haupt, Australian National University
  • 2000 Stuart Prescott, CSIRO Molecular Science
  • 2004 Luke Connal, University of Melbourne
  • 2007 Tara Schiller, Queensland University of Technology
  • 2008 Jennifer Hodgson, Australian National University
  • 2011 John Moraes, Sydney University
  • 2014 Natasha Ishank, Sydney University


Your submission must include:

  • Your CV (including your publications if available)
  • Two letters of reference
  • Your conference abstract if trip includes a conference
  • A letter, which includes half a page about the collaboration partner (why is it important for you to go there) and your RACI membership number
  • A detailed description of the work to be carried out overseas (up to 5 pages)
  • A supporting letter from the host

Further details on how to apply can be obtained from the awards coordinator of the Polymer Division.

Awards Coordinator

Awards Coordinator
Dr James Blinco